Read Accessibility Statement

Hinoki Wood Sauna Set

Free U.S. Shipping & Easy Returns

Inspired by the tradition-rich Japanese saunas, or onsens, this set brings the ritual of a Japanese bath to your home. Two nesting stools are the perfect height to reach for a book, cup of tea, or perhaps a glass of wine, and the beautiful soap dish adds a small dose of beauty and calm. All made of the highest grade hinoki wood, a material known for its soft feel and aromatic, calming scent.

Set includes:

  • Large stool
  • Small stool
  • Soap dish

Handcrafted with locally sourced hinoki wood by an entrepreneurial workshop in Kochi, each stool takes almost a day to complete. All made start-to-finish in a fair trade environment.

  • Small Stool - 11.75"H x 10.5"W x 8.75"D
    Large Stool - 15.5"H x 13.5"W x 9.5"D
    Soap Dish - 1"H x 7"W x 3.75"D

  • Hinoki Wood

  • Natural

  • Japan

  • 1 day

The Kochi Hinoki Workshop

The Kochi Hinoki Workshop image
"We’re committed to preserving the natural beauty of hinoki cypress. From sourcing to shaping and finishing, we use sustainable methods every step of the way.”
Learn More

30

33° 23' 40" N
133° 17' 28" E

Fair Trade. Guaranteed. 100% of our products are made with a process guaranteed by the World Fair Trade Organization.

Wipe with a damp cloth to keep clean. Be sure to avoid extended exposure to direct sunlight as natural wood may darken over time.

  • Always free shipping within the continental U.S.

  • Exchanges and returns for store credit are free.

    Prefer a refund? A single re-stocking fee will apply to returns within 30 days:
    $0 (no fee) for just bedding and/or towels
    $25 for most other returned orders
    $65
    if your return includes oversized items (area rugs, furniture, mirrors)

    White glove delivery items are handled separately and have a 15% re-stocking fee.

To view our full shipping & returns policy, click here.

Customer Reviews
Customer Reviews
3.9 Based on 7 Reviews
5 ★
71% 
5
4 ★
0% 
0
3 ★
0% 
0
2 ★
0% 
0
1 ★
29% 
2
Write a Review Ask a Question

Thank you for submitting a review!

Your input is very much appreciated. Share it with your friends so they can enjoy it too!

Filter Reviews:
JW
12/06/2021
John W.
United States United States

Lovely

The products arrived exactly as I expected. What was unexpected was the lovely Hinoki wood smell which was absolutely delightful!

KG
12/02/2021
Katy G.
United States United States

Beautiful and functional

I purchased the set to use the two stools in my walk-in showers; I wanted something elegant and minimal to hold toiletries. They work perfectly for my needs, aren’t too big, are very sturdy, and drain easily. I was pleasantly surprised by how fragrant the wood is - the hinoki has a beautiful woody scent that makes my shower feel that much more spa-like. Definitely recommend and would purchase again!

ML
10/13/2020
Miriam L.
United States United States

My purchase was lost

I wanted these little Japanese tables but they were lost in the warehouse or during shipping so I never got them. I’ve been promised a refund so that is nice.

11/12/2020

The Citizenry

Miriam, Hi, and thank you for your note! We’re truly sorry about the mix up with your sauna set — that certainly is not the experience we strive for in any way. We checked with our Client Experience Team and are happy to hear you rightfully received a refund, but still feel we needed to do more. We also understand that we have sent a small gift to your inbox and hope you’re able to find something beautiful for your space. We’d love a chance to prove our commitment to excellence and the artistry of our artisan partners’ work in the future. Sincerely, The Citizenry Team

IS
10/13/2020
Israel S.
United States United States

Two month wait and when it finally shipped it was lost

Never received item

11/18/2020

The Citizenry

Israel, We are truly sorry you never received your sauna set — this was an unfortunate and rare case of being lost in transit. But regardless – we’ve all missed out on enough joy this year as it is, and we would never want to add to it. We checked in with our Client Experience Team to ensure we resolved things for you, and it sounds like we’ve worked together towards the best resolution possible. If we can help you pick out something equally as beautiful for your bathroom in the future, we’d love nothing more. Sincerely, The Citizenry Team

EZ
01/02/2020
Estee Z.
United States United States

This set came to me defective, after being on a waiting list for a while.

After being on a waiting list for a while, I finally got this item and it was defective. The wood was split, very poorly made, especially for the price I have paid, I did expected top of the line product, and was very disappointed. Now I am still waiting for credit on my credit card, and I guess you are all on vacation.

01/27/2020

The Citizenry

Hi Estee, Thank you for reaching out. We're so sorry to hear that your order arrived in less-than-perfect condition. I understand that you have been in contact with our Client Experience Team to resolve this issue, but if there is anything else we can do to help, please drop us a line at assistant@the-citizenry.com We truly appreciate you taking the time to provide feedback so that we can improve in the future! Best, - The Citizenry Team

TG
12/27/2019
Trista G.
United States United States

Love these for the bath

We don’t have many places to put stuff down in our bath and these are perfect. Makes it look like a sauna and I can put my lotions on it. Very happy with purchase.

White Glove Shipping Notice Icon

White Glove Service

This piece is delivered to your home by our premium White Glove Service. 

In-stock items are expected to be delivered within 4-6 weeks from your order. Delivery timelines for custom furniture may vary. Your dedicated two-person team will deliver this product to your door, unpack your item in the room of your choice, and remove all packaging materials upon your approval. Flat rate delivery fees start at $150. For more information, please review our FAQ section.

Please note that any white glove items will ship separately from the rest of your order. However, all white glove items within your order will be held to ship together. All deliveries and appointments are managed by our partner, Yellow Logistics.